Infosys announces awards for outstanding research

BANGALORE Updated Sat, 24 Nov 2012 12:06 PM IST
Infosys announces awards for outstanding research
IT major Infosys today announced winners of ''Infosys Prize 2012'' for outstanding research across six catogories --Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.

While Dr Ashish Lele of National Chemical Laboratories,Pune won the Award in Engineering and Computer Science category, Prof Sanjay Subrahmanyam (University of California) won in History, Prof Amit Chaudhuri (University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK) in Contemporary Literature, in Life Sciences: Cellular Orgainisation and Signalling, Prof Dr Satyajit Mayor (National Centre for Biological Sciences,Bangalore).

Prof Manjul Bhargava of Princeton University won the Award in Mathematical Sciences, while senior Scientist Ayyappanpillai Ajayagosh (National Institute for Interdiscplinary Science and Technology won it in Physical Sciences, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Thiruvananthapuram. In Social Sciences, it was Prof Arunava
Sen (Indian Statiscal Institute,Delhi.

The awards carrying a cash prize of Rs 50 lakhs each except for those in Humanities and gold medal which will be presented at a function in Delhi on Jan 3, 2013. Former Norwegian Prime Minister Dr Gro Harlem Brundtland, will felicitate the winners.


Related Videos

किताबों के बोझ से दबा बचपन खो गया है, किस खिड़की के बाहर मिलेगा?

दिल्ली में चौथे हरिकृष्ण देवसरे बाल साहित्य पुरस्कार एवं सम्मान समारोह का आयोजन किया गया। कार्यक्रम के मुख्य अतिथि रहे जानेमाने कार्टूनिस्ट आबिद सुरती और विशिष्ट अतिथि थे प्रख्यात व्यंगकार अशोक चक्रधर।

22 जनवरी 2018

आज का मुद्दा
View more polls
  • Downloads

Follow Us

Read the latest and breaking Hindi news on Get live Hindi news about India and the World from politics, sports, bollywood, business, cities, lifestyle, astrology, spirituality, jobs and much more. Register with to get all the latest Hindi news updates as they happen.